Breakthrough By Mentor Janis Cox


Helen_Keller_with_Anne_Sullivan_in_July_1888 (1)

Helen Keller with Anne Sullivan July 1888 post provided by Janis Cox

 

Read: John 14:15-21

“If you love me, you will obey what I command. And I will ask the Father, and he will give you another Counselor to be with you forever— the Spirit of truth. The world cannot accept him, because it neither sees him nor knows him. But you know him, for he lives with you and will be in you. I will not leave you as orphans; I will come to you. Before long, the world will not see me anymore, but you will see me. Because I live, you also will live. On that day you will realize that I am in my Father, and you are in me, and I am in you. Whoever has my commands and obeys them, he is the one who loves me. He who loves me will be loved by my Father, and I too will love him and show myself to him.”

I watched a play this summer called “Helen Keller”. It is based on a true story of a young girl who became blind and deaf at a very early age. At the beginning of the play she is eight years old. She has become totally unmanageable. Due to her inability to communicate she doesn’t understand how to behave properly. She eats from all the different plates at the table. She reacts with anger and tears when she doesn’t get what she wants.

Through the patience and persistence of Anne, her teacher, Helen learns to associate hand signs to words. By patiently repeating the hand signs Helen starts to make connections. Suddenly she has a breakthrough. She understands; she can communicate her feelings and her thoughts.

That’s what I felt like when I discovered Jesus for the first time.

It was a breakthrough. Colours were brighter, sounds were more distinct and the world came alive. I started to understand more about God’s world and the people in it. Everything that had been in a fog before became well-defined. I had an “aha” moment when I put my life into His hands.

My plight had been similar to Helen’s. I was blind and deaf to God. My new understanding came from friends, books and, of course, Jesus. The best book was, and still is, the Bible. Through constant repetition and rereading passages, His Word began to penetrate my soul. This reminds me of the following passage from John 15:26, “When the Counselor comes, whom I will send to you from the Father, the Spirit of truth who goes out from the Father, he will testify about me.”

I found the Spirit of truth and it opened my eyes.

Have you made a breakthrough? Do you know Jesus? Has He become the Lord of your life? When did you see God in a new and more powerful way?

JanisCox-web-2015

Janis can be reached on her website, Growing Through God’s Word and on Facebook, Pinterest andTwitter

6 thoughts on “Breakthrough By Mentor Janis Cox

  1. So true that we are blind and deaf, spiritually, when we don’t know God. The power of language, which God created, as a way for us to communicate with one another, and most importantly, Him, fascinates me. What an amazing God we serve! I am glad that we get to “see” Him more and more clearly as we Grow in Him.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Pingback: Mentor Mom – Me? | Growing Through God's Word

  3. Excellent picture, Janis. I grew up in the church, yet for the most part I was blind and deaf. It wasn’t until I attended a verse by verse Bible study, with a teacher who gave context and history, humbly answering my multitude of questions, that my eyes opened. The Word truly is living and active!

    Interestingly, though I’ve now walked with Jesus for many years, there are seasons in which I have allowed the cares of the world to cover my eyes and stop up my ears once again. So silly! Thankfully, my Father patiently works with me, breaking through the barriers much like Anne did with Helen. Once I know he’s desiring to communicate with me…with ME!…my selfish resistance melts away.

    I have loved Helen Keller’s story since I was a kid. Now it has an added element and I love it even more. Thank you!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment