The Importance Of Guarding Our Hearts And Mind


Desiree testimony picture

by Desiree Taylor

Have you ever found yourself in a place where you sit and wonder how you got there? You sit and ponder the last year of events to see what happened to cause you to stray so far from where you should be.

Unfortunately I have been there more than once in life.

Every time there has been a common reason.

Somewhere along the line I left a crack open in the window of my heart and mind. A crack just big enough to allow satan to get a foothold in msays.

It usually starts small. Sometimes it is a negative thought about myself, someone else, or a situation. It can be a thought about what someone , conversation where it could lead to gossiping,  watching things that don’t need to be in my mind too long, or feeding my flesh instead of my spirit no matter how that may look.

1 Peter 5:8 says “Be of sober spirit, be on the alert. Your adversary the devil prowls around like a roaring lion, seeking someone to devour.”

We have an enemy who wants to see us defeated but we have God who has given us victory through His son Jesus Christ!

We have a responsibility though. It is not just God’s job. He has given us everything we need to guard our hearts and minds but we have to choose to do it.

I love Philippians 4:8 “Finally Brethren, whatever is true, whatever is honorable, whatever is right, whatever is pure, whatever is lovely, whatever is of good repute, if there is excellence and if anything worthy of praise, dwell on these things.”

What are you thinking on today? Measure it against what we see in Philippians. Are you having negative thoughts that could lead to a bitter root or attitude towards someone else? Are you struggling to keep your eyes and hearts pure? What are you watching or putting into your mind today? What are you allowing your eyes to see?

Satan wants to destroy the body of Christ. He wants to tear apart marriages and families. He wants to pull our children away into the world.

We need to be alert and on guard. We need to protect our minds and hearts today and it begins with what we allow into our minds and our eyes.

Make a decision to do this today. I know I am.

7 thoughts on “The Importance Of Guarding Our Hearts And Mind

  1. Thanks girls! I appreciate your encouragement! I have seen so many people falling into bad places because they have not guarded their minds and hearts. It has been one of my strongest lessons to my children. Praying that people really hear this and live this out. Have a GREAT day!

    Like

  2. Pingback: Lewisia rediviva | Find Me A Cure

Leave a comment