What Would Happen If We Faced Fear In Love? Tuesday Inspiration by Lisa Brown


God Calm My Anxious Heart Image

Worry takes up space in my head.  I run like a scared cat or I obey its commands.  What would happen if I faced my fear in love?

I live in a state where the mountain lion roam. Colorado is a beautiful place to live with trails for hikers to explore the Rockies.  At every trail head is a sign that warns travelers’ to not run if they spot a lion. Instead stand tall on your toes and slowly raise your hands above your head.  Do not look in lions eyes.  Warning if you run the lion will attack.

When we run from fear we wear ourselves out.   I live life feeling exhausted.  I let fear run me down.

In my sixty gallon fish tank I have a cool looking blue fish who is very territorial and spends his days chasing fish who are fearful of him.  I have a few fish who will not swim away from him. They will face my blue fish and be still.  He swims away.

We can’t make anxiety go away.  We have to face it.  When I acknowledge that fear is near it becomes a non – issue.   I take note as to what it has to say and I choose if I am going to ruin my day or not.   When I do this it allows me to live life.  I am work in progress with this one.

When my blue fish chases after my cat fish that is way bigger, the catfish will stop what he is doing and go after him.  Apparently the blue fish thinks this fun because he keeps initiating tag.  Catfish gets angry and if he wants to rest he hides under the rocks.

Anxiety likes to play tag.  It wants to be chased.  Every time we act on an anxious thought, anxiety comes after us again.  How do we play the game so we come out winning?  I’m learning to not let it have its way.

I can act a bit obsessive compulsive at times.  A lifelong battle that I am becoming more aware of.   I worry that my credit card will get lost and I will leave my family with no money.  For years now I will not go asleep until I check to make sure my credit card is in my wallet.   This is just one example.

God Calm My Anxious Heart and Set Me Free.

I have told no one about this battle.  I shared a little with my husband and it helped.  I go to counseling and this has calmed my anxious heart down.

I refuse to see if my credit card is in my purse before I go to sleep at night.  I refuse to play the game.  I stand up to my fear and it goes along its merry way.

If you struggle with anxiety and you obsess, please know there is no need to feel ashamed.   Keeping it a secret only makes it worse.  Tell a friend, doctor, or go to counseling.  Share your battle here in the comment section.  Don’t isolate yourself.

I have a ways to go.  I’m just glad that I’m not alone.  I don’t want you to be alone either.

We face our fear in love by affirming the word of God over our lives.

We need to give ourselves grace and patience.

Every small step toward overcoming an anxious thought is victory and we must acknowledge our progress.

I do this by giving God thanks for helping me have the victory.

I would love to hear your story.  Please take a moment to share what God put on your heart while you read this post.  Do you need to tell someone about your obsessive and compulsive tendencies?   How can I pray for you?

Don’t feel ashamed if you need to go get help?  Be gentle and kind with yourself.  Love yourself.

Please visit our Facebook group. God Calm My Anxious Heart

https://www.facebook.com/groups/719840771476308/

We are doing a series about worry, fear, and anxiety.  We would love to hear your story and write a post for our blog series.  Please email me if you would like to encourage and give hope to other Christians who are struggling in this.

lisadesign@comcast.net

linking up with

Intentional Tuesday Linkup {Week 26}

Staying Faithful When Issues Mount

7 thoughts on “What Would Happen If We Faced Fear In Love? Tuesday Inspiration by Lisa Brown

  1. This reminded me…I used to have to check my front door before bed to make sure it was locked and latched. Normal, right? Not 4 or 5 times! It was weird. I didn’t even feel super anxious, just had the thought rolling around in my head…did I check it? Really check it? Did I check it, or just think I did?

    I love the analogy of your fish. A game of tag indeed. I’m so glad you are gaining victory over your compulsions. Once again, your sharing is encouraging!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Hi Rebeca – I use to do the same thing with the door too. My counselor told me that when I do something I can tell myself that I did it out loud. “Lisa you locked the door.” It works!!!! Thanks friend for being here.

    Like

  3. Pingback: Vision61 Ministries

  4. Pingback: Vision61 Ministries – What Would Happen If We Faced Fear In Love?

  5. Lisa, I’m from Colorado and thankfully never saw a mountain lion. I might have run the wrong way to get close enough for a picture. : ) Giving my fears to God is a daily battle for me too. It used to stop me in my tracks, but I am learning to trust God and keep giving it to Him … work in progress myself. Thank you, Lisa, for sharing your heart at #IntentionalTuesday on Intentionally Pursuing. : )

    Liked by 1 person

    • I live in Colorado and I never saw a mountain lion either. thankfully – When I take the kids to the mountains I get anxious. But I’m learning to be cautious without being fearful. I grew up running all over the mountains and I wasn’t afraid. I don’t want my kids to be either. Thanks for coming over today. Love having you here with us.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment